I’ve Got Joy Like A River

on

There were so many reasons to not run today.

  • I had already logged 39 miles for the week which was my highest by 11 in 2 months.
  • I kicked/tripped on a metal chair leg (Nutella tortillas are dangerous) and woke up this morning with a bruised and sore toe.
  • I also overslept and was now 30 minutes later to the trailhead than intended. That wouldn’t be terrible, but I have a list about half a mile long of things to do.
  • On the drive I realized I forgot to charge my watch.

Then I began running and even more crappy things were happening.

  • Heat rash painfully popped up at my waistline before I even got into the woods good.
  • My monkey ear bun was bouncing too much.
  • I tripped and fell within the first half mile. The blood was mild, but somehow the Nuun container I use to carry salt chews that I keep in the front pocket of my pack got pressed hard into my chest.
  • Spiderwebs everywhere, and I left my good stick in the car.
  • 2 miles in and I inhale a bug, like legit up my nose. Still not sure if I was able to blow him out or if I swallowed him.
  • Almost immediately after the bug, I wiped a spiderweb off my face and dislodged a contact. Luckily it didn’t fall off my eyelid and I was able to reinstall it.
Heat rash

After that it dawned on the the amount of sucky things that had happened leading up to or during this run. And while I did adjust my distance (only ran 5 miles instead of the planned 10), I found I wasn’t really in a bad mood. In fact, I felt pretty good, content and even happy. I immediately sent up a prayer of thanks because I knew it was from God and not any other circumstances, not even the running that had me joyful during these trials.

I love running, but running doesn’t always make me happy. In fact the start of last night’s run felt more like a chore and I was contemplating whether to cut it short. But no matter our circumstances, I can choose to look at them in light of eternity. My bruised toe will heal, same for the bruised chest. The bug in my nose was gone shortly after its arrival. And even the fact that Strava didn’t save my run isn’t the end of the world. None of it is going to even come to mind in the end when I’m standing in heaven with Jesus, so why let it bother me now.

Why am I writing about this today? During Monday’s run, someone made the comment, “Anna, you’re always smiling. What gives?” While I didn’t have the perfect answer lined up and ready then, I feel my line of thoughts during today’s run was a perfect example. And I honestly was amazed to hear my friend say that. I didn’t realize I was seen smiling that much.

Jesus is my joy.

Leave a comment